learning, living, loving and laughing

Governor Statement & News

As a member of the Diocese of Chelmsford Vine Schools Trust the school is run by a local governing body which works with the executive head teacher and senior management team to ensure pupils receive a good education. Becoming a governor could be a way of contributing to your local school and learning new skills.
What do school governors do?
The governing body of the school has three main roles:
  • To provide strategic direction for the school
  • To act as a critical friend to the headteacher
  • To ensure accountability

Who can become a school governor?
All types of people can become school governors. There are no special qualifications required, however you must be 18 or over on the date when you are elected or appointed.

You also do not need to have a child at the school to be come a governor, but you will need enthusiasm, commitment and an interest in education.
The governing body is made up of:
  • Parent governors, elected by parents
  • Staff representatives, elected by school staff
  • Local authority governors, appointed by Essex County Council
  • Community governors, members of the local community appointed by the governing body
  • Foundation governors, appointed by the Diocese of Chelmsford

Latest Newsletter

Governors                   Date Appointed

Chair                                              Canon Brian Vidler                 Sept 2017

Vice Chair                                          Mrs Maureen Rigg                 Sept 2017

Executive Head Teacher
Mrs Linda Taylor                     Ex-officio

Head of School
Miss Kirsty Lewis -Staff          Sept 2017

Mrs Helen Bull                        Sept 2017

Rev Canon Jonathan Lowe     Ex-officio

Mrs Jessica Wood - Parent    Sept 2017

Mr Nigel Benwell - Parent    March 2018

 Clerk   Mrs Cheryl Morgan

A term of office is four years

Jonathan Lowe is married to Mrs Lowe  Inclusion Manager/Member of the Senior Leadership Team

Former governors in the last year:

Mrs Jessica Wood  Sept 2017 - May 2018

Mrs Becky Poynter Jan 2016 - July 2017 

Mrs Linda Hughes  Feb 2017 - July 2017

Mr Charles Godfrey  Feb 2015 - July 2017

Mr Ian Purdie  Feb 2015 - July 2017

Mrs Diane Coverdale  Feb 2015 - May 2017